DOCTORAL PAPER AWARDS

ASN 2021 Awards

 
Subasic

Balkans

Mate Subašić
(U of Liverpool, UK)
mate.subasic@liverpool.ac.uk
Dual Citizenship in the Context of Shifting Dynamics Within Kin-State

Central Europe

Timo Aava
(U of Vienna, Austria)
timo.aava@univie.ac.at
European Minorities and the Estonian Law
on Cultural Autonomy for National Minorities
Aava
Gal
Edina Gál
(Babes-Bolyai U, Romania)
edina92tunde@gmail.com
Healthy Babies for the Nation: The Evolution of the State Child Welfare System in Interwar Banat and Transylvania

Eurasia

Moira O’Shea
(U of Chicago, US)
moshea@uchicago.edu

Kok-boru (Kyrgyzstan’s National Sport) :

Beyond Invention of Tradition

photo_m.oshea
Catherine L Crooke
(UCLA, US)
ccrooke@g.ucla.edu
The Temporal Tensions of Asylum Lawyering

Migration

Crooke
Vicente G. Ferraro Jr
(U of São Paulo, Brazil)
vgferraro.jr@usp.br

The Tradeoff between Democracy and Order in

Divided Societies: Separatist Conflicts, Threat and

Authoritarian Preferences in Post-Soviet States

Nationalism

Ferraro
Jessica Lovett
(U of Nottingham, UK)
jessica.lovett@nottingham.ac.uk
“The Fate of the Nation”: Population Politics
in a Changing Soviet Union (1964-1982)

Russia/Caucasus

Lovett
Marilena Anastasopoulou
(U of Oxford, UK)
marilena.anastasopoulou@gmail.com

Coming to Terms with Forced Migration:

An Intergenerational Study of Asia Minor Refugee

Memory in Greece

Turkey/Greece

Anastasapoulou

Ukraine

Oleksandra Keudel
(Free U of Berlin, Germany)
oleksandra.keudel@fu-berlin.de
Citizen Participation in Ukrainian Regional Centers: The Role of Local Patronal Networks
Keudel
Vsetecka-2.jpg
John Vsetecka
(Michigan State U, US)
vsetecka@msu.edu
Fact and Fiction: Information and Disinformation about the 1932-1933 Famine in Soviet Ukraine in the World Press
HARRIMAN ROTHSCHILD BOOK PRIZE
 
Krista Goff 
(U of Miami, US)

Nested Nationalism: Making and Unmaking Nations in the Soviet Caucasus (Cornell, 2020)

HONORABLE MENTION

Ana Bracic  
(Michigan State U, US)

Breaking the Exclusion Cycle:

How to Promote Cooperation between Majority and Minority Ethnic Groups

2021Rothschild_Honorable_BracicCover
Bracic
2021Rothschild_GoffCover.jpg
Goff
NATIONALITIES PAPERS HUTTENBACH PRIZE
 

Regional 1932-1933 Famine Losses:

A Comparative Analysis of Ukraine and Russia

Wolowyna
Oleh Wolowyna
(UNC Chapel Hill, US)
Levchuk
Natalia Levchuk
(Institute of Demography, Ukraine)
Rudnytskyi
Omelian Rudnytskyi
(Institute of Demography, Ukraine)
Kovbasiuk
Alla Kovbasiuk
(Institute of Demography, Ukraine)
Kulyk
Natalia Kulyk
(Institute of Demography, Ukraine)
NATIONALITIES PAPERS PHOTO CONTEST
IN NATIONALISM & ETHNIC STUDIES
 
Bridgett Coggins
(UC Santa Barbara, US)
Hélène Thibault
(Nazarbayev U, Kazakhstan)
Sofie Bedford
(Uppsala U, Sweden)
Karolina Kluczewska
(U of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
Dario Brentin
(U of Applied Sciences, Austria)
Ana Ljubojević
(U of Graz, Austria)
SOCIAL MEDIA AWARDS
 
Dureinovic-Photo
Jelena Đureinović
(U of Vienna, Austria)
Sener-Akturk
Şener Aktürk
(Koç U, Turkey)