Session III

Thursday (May 2):
3:40 - 5:40 PM
ROOM

CHAIR

Daina Eglitis 

(George Washington U, US)

dainas@gwu.edu

PAPERS

Maria Madalina Irimia 

(The Center for the Study of Jewish History, Romania)

madalina.irimia@yahoo.com

Anti-Jewish Violence in Modern Romania:  

Pogroms, Plunder and Expulsions after 1859 

 

Felicia Waldman 

(U of Bucharest, Romania)

fwaldman@gmail.com

The Obsession with Numerus Clausus in Early 20th century Romania 

and its Legislation

 

Gershon Bacon

(Bar-Ilan U, Israel)

gershon.bacon@gmail.com

Great Achievement, Toxic Heritage, De Facto Reality: 

The Minorities Treaties, Jewish Autonomy, and Polish-Jewish Relations, 1919-1939

 

Zohar Segev

(U of Haifa, Israel)

zsegev@univ.haifa.ac.il

Immigration, Politics and Democracy: 

The World Jewish Congress in Eastern Europe, 1936-1939

 

Daniel Solomon

(Georgetown U, US)

des53@georgetown.edu

Explaining Subnational Variations in Pogrom Violence:

The Case of Kristallnacht

 

DISCUSSANT

Robert Moses Shapiro

(CUNY Brooklyn College, US)

rshapiro@brooklyn.cuny.edu

 

Within and Beyond Antisemitism? 

The Jewish Minority Before and During World War II

Thursday May 2, 3:40 - 5:40 PM 

Central Europe

© 2016-2019 Web Design by ITALIQUE. For Questions / Contact us at rk2780@columbia.edu

  • Grey Facebook Icon