CHAIR

Anna Kyriazi

(U of Milan, Italy)

anna.kyriazi@unimi.it

 

PAPERS

Juris Pupcenoks

(Marist College, US)

juris.pupcenoks@marist.edu 

Microfoundations of Threat and Security Perceptions in Ethnically Diverse States:

Lessons From Russia’s “Near Abroad”

*co-authored with Toms Rostoks (U of Latvia) and Inta Mierina (U of Latvia)

 

Zsuzsa Csergo

(Queen’s U, Canada)

csergo@queensu.ca 

How Securitization Impacts Democratic Minority Agency: 

Hungarians and Russian-Speakers in Central and Eastern Europe

*co-authored with Kristina Kallas (U of Tartu, Estonia) and Tamás Kiss 

(Romanian Institute for Research on Minorities)

 

Dan Dungaciu

(U of Bucharest, Romania)

dan.dungaciu2012@gmail.com 

“We are Transnistrians!” Post-Soviet Identity

and “Nation Building” in Transnistria

 

Stefan Morar

(U de Montréal, Canada)

stefan.morar@umontreal.ca 

Transnistria:

The Policy and the Practice of Nation-Building

 

DISCUSSANT

Svetluša Surova

(Bratislava Policy Institute, Slovakia)

surova@bpi.sk

PANEL CE2
Nationbuilding and Minorities
in the Shadow of Soviet Legacies 

Thursday May 5, 2.00-3.30 PM ET

Central Europe