Session VII

Friday (May 3):
3:00 - 5:00 PM
ROOM

CHAIR

Nargis Kassenova

(Harvard U, US)

nkassenova@fas.harvard.edu

PAPERS

Alexis Lerner

(Columbia U, US)

alexis.lerner@mail.utoronto.ca

The Calculus of Dissent Management in Post-Soviet Authoritarian States

Lawrence Markowitz

(Rowan U, US)

markowitzl@rowan.edu

Rethinking State Repression:

Deterrence and Diversion in Central Asia’s Autocracies

Matthew Thomas

(CUNY Graduate Center, US)

mthomas@gc.cuny.edu

State of Exile:

Coercive and Bureaucratic Power in the Formation of Tibetan National Identity

Colleen Wood

(Columbia U, US)

c.wood@columbia.edu

Who Belongs in “Our Common Home”:

Public Education and National v. Ethnic Identification in Kyrgyzstan

Sarah Dorr

(U of Leeds, UK)

ptswd@leeds.ac.uk

The Elite-Level Demonstration Effect of the Arab Spring in Kazakhstan:

2005-2015

DISCUSSANT

Martha B. Olcott

(James Madison College, US)

olcottm@msu.edu

 

State Power and Policies in Eurasia

Friday May 3, 3:00 - 5:00 PM 

Eurasia

© 2016-2019 Web Design by ITALIQUE. For Questions / Contact us at rk2780@columbia.edu

  • Grey Facebook Icon