Bellarus-BR.jpg

PANEL BE1
Civil Society in Belarus
Shocks 2020-2021 and Beyond

Saturday May 7, 10.30 AM-12.00 PM ET

CHAIR

Sofie Bedford

(Uppsala U, Sweden)

sofie.bedford@ires.uu.se

 

 

PAPERS

Yury Chavusau

(Independent Scholar, Belarus)

chavusau@gmail.com

Freedom of Association in Belarus:

Legal and Practical Environment for Civil Society Organizations 

 

Olwen Byrne

(Leiden U, The Netherlands)

o.m.byrne@umail.leidenuniv.nl

Exploring the Threat to Democratisation and Human Rights:

The Paradox of International Institution Engagement With Government Organised

Non-Governmental Organisations in Azerbaijan and Belarus

 

Vadim Mojeiko

(Belarusian Institute for Strategic Studies)

mojeiko@belinstitute.com

Changes in Values and Identity as the Foundation 

of a New Civil Society in Belarus

 

Tatsiana Chulitskaya

(Vytautas Magnus U, Lithuania)

chulitskaya@gmail.com

Belarusian Civil Society and Social Movements in Times of Political Crises:

Main Developments, Challenges, and Needs

Ilya Sulzhytski

(U of Greifswald, Germany)

ilya.sulzhickiy@gmail.com

A Revolution Aborted? Social Impacts and Discourses

of the Belarusian Crisis in 2021

 

 

DISCUSSANT

Nicolas Bouchet

(German Marshall Fund of the United States)

nbouchet@gmfus.org

Belarus