Session XI

Saturday (May 4):
4:10 - 6:10 PM
ROOM

CHAIR

Stephen Jones

(Mount Holyoke College, US)

sfjones@mtholyoke.edu

PAPERS

Mauricio Borrero

(St. John’s U, US)

borrerom@stjohns.edu

Three Intersections of Sport and National Identity: 

The Soviet Football League, Dinamo Tbilisi, and Baku 2020  

 

Naira Sahakyan

(U of Amsterdam, Netherlands/European U at Saint Petersburg, Russia)

nairas@uw.edu

Levels of Identity? Тhe Project to Establish a State-Nation

in Multiethnic Daghestan during the Revolution of 1917

 

 

Peter Kabachnik

(College of Staten Island, CUNY, US)

peter.kabachnik@csi.cuny.edu

States of Missing, Missing States: Spatializing the Soviet Union 

and Yugoslavia in Contemporary Post-Socialist Space  

 

Sebastian Muth

(Lancaster U, UK)

s.muth@lancaster.ac.uk

Where Post-Soviet Never Ends: Russian and the Politics of Language 

and Identity in Abkhazia, Nagorno-Karabakh and Transnistria

 

DISCUSSANT

Julie A. George

(Queens College, CUNY, US)

jageorge98@gmail.com

 

Memory and Identity Formation

in the Caucasus and Beyond

Saturday May 4, 4:10 - 6:10 PM 

Caucasus

© 2016-2019 Web Design by ITALIQUE. For Questions / Contact us at rk2780@columbia.edu

  • Grey Facebook Icon