Bellarus-BR.jpg

PANEL BE2
Belarus
Society and Politics in Crisis

Thursday May 5, 10.30 AM-12.00 PM ET 

CHAIR

Gwendolyn Sasse

(ZoiS, Germany)

gwendolyn.sasse@zois-berlin.de

 

 

PAPERS

Amelie Tolvin

(U of Toronto, Canada)

amelie.tolvin@mail.utoronto.ca

Why the 2020 Belarusian Protests Failed to Oust Lukashenka

 

Tanya Lokot 

(Dublin City U, Ireland)

tanya.lokot@dcu.ie

Telegram in the Belarus Protests:

Platforms as Political Actors in Authoritarian Contexts

 

Irina Petrova

(UCL, UK)

i.petrova@ucl.ac.uk

Power, People and the Political: Understanding the Many Crises in Belarus

*co-authored with Elena Korosteleva (Kent U, UK)

 

Olga Onuch

(U of Manchester, UK)

olga.onuch@manchester.ac.uk

Anti-Regime Action and Geopolitical Polarization:

Understanding Protester Dispositions in Belarus

 

 

DISCUSSANT

David Marples

(U of Alberta, Canada)

dmarples@ualberta.ca

Belarus