PANEL CE4

Ethnic and Cultural Interpretations of Nationalism
in Central Europe

Session 1

Wednesday (May 5):
8.00-9.30 AM ET

CHAIR

Jennie Schulze

(Duquesne U, US)

schulzej@duq.edu

PAPERS

Andrzej Sadecki

(Charles U, Czech Republic)

andrzej.sadecki@fsv.cuni.cz

Politicization of Collective Memory in Orbán’s Hungary: 

The Case of the Centenary of the Treaty of Trianon

 

Vladimir Naxera

(U of West Bohemia, Czech Republic)

vnaxera@kap.zcu.cz

“Sudeten Germans or Immigration?” The Use of History and Othering of Germans
in the Speeches of the Czech President Miloš Zeman

 

Mihai S. Rusu

(U Lucian Blaga din Sibiu, Romania)

mihai.rusu@ulbsibiu.ro

Street Renaming in Post-Socialist Romania: 

A Quantitative Analysis of Toponymic Change

 

Katie Stewart

(Knox College, US)

klstewart@knox.edu

Laulupidu and Identity Politics in Estonia

 

DISCUSSANT

Stephen Deets

(Babson College, US)

sdeets@babson.edu

Wednesday May 5, 8.00-9.30 AM ET 

Central Europe