Session 11

Saturday (May 7):
10.30 AM-12.00 PM ET

CHAIR

David R Stroup 

(Manchester U, UK)

david.stroup@manchester.ac.uk

 

 

PAPERS

Benno Weiner 

(Carnegie Mellon U, US)

bweiner@andrew.cmu.edu

When Bad Muslims Meet Good Tibetans

in Early-Maoist China

 

Joshua L Freeman 

(Princeton U, US)

jlfreeman@princeton.edu

Xinjiang Under Nationalists and Communists:

Questioning the 1949 Divide

 

Eric Schluessel

(George Washington U, US)

schluessel@email.gwu.edu

The Saintly Body of a Mao-Era Uyghur Hero:

Anarkhan Before Anarkhan

 

Dáša Pejchar Mortensen

(Davidson College, US)

damortensen@davidson.edu

Mao-Era Propaganda in Eastern Tibet:

Transforming a “Serf” into a “Heroic Eagle of the Snow Mountains”

 

 

DISCUSSANT

Marianne Kamp

(Indiana U, US)

mkamp@indiana.edu

PANEL EU3
Muslims, Tibetans, and the Ethnopolitics
of Maoist China 

Saturday May 7, 10.30 AM-12.00 PM ET 

Eurasia